top of page

The Battle of Kitchen Pointe, 2013

He looks at me with eyes like

daggers and carves insults

into my arms and legs when

I try to take a bite. A shot fires

across a long, wooden table

as if it were a damp battle ground,

brought inside and slightly civilized.

It seems the distance between

us is expanding as the words roll

off of my tongue and into the barrel

aimed just inches from his nose.

he knows exactly which exits to

bar when I run for cover and push

past empty threats towards the border-

line that lies in the deep base of our

hidden banquet room. I've prepared

meals here before but never with

ingredients like this. Cyanide and

casserole, salted with sarcasm and

murmurs of affection. The cannon

fires again and I check that I'm not

bleeding. No need to retaliate. The

reinforcements should be here soon

if I could just remember how to dial 911.


SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page