top of page

Numbered Souls


By: Alicia Berdeguez

I think of people as numbers, they add up to the figures in my bank account and then provide nourishment for my insatiable appetite just one more apple for the pie, my dear, coat it in gold so they know our class or perhaps diamond-stud it, it's not meant to be eaten but observed like the buried treasures of our ancestors who plundered and stole as part of their goals and monthly quotas for numbers over names, for wine over water, they say you can't take it with you but they are underachievers for the Egyptians sure tried before they died and I am a lot more passionate than King Tut or Nefertiti for these tangible sins that begin to consume me from within but I just want one more car,

I just want one more dollar,

I just want it all.

SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page