top of page

Sets of a Thousand

Death came to me in sets of a thousand

that night, like a dreamscape set to endless

repeat, I must have had ten panic attacks,

the feeling of tightness in my chest felt

semi-natural after a while, like an ice warrior

sitting on my ribs, though the pain did not

subside until I lost consciousness, I awoke

in a frenzy as if dunked in iced tea or bathing

with the dead, a frost emerging from my lips,

there was a glimmer of hunger in my stomach,

I couldn't reach the supplies, I glanced at the

metal cabinet and imagined another freeze-

dried chicken packet, I gagged, but heaving

made me notice the shimmers of green

beneath me, the computer had come alive

while I had slept, it had decided to keep me

living, pumping fluids into my body, my vitals

raising with each beep, it preserved me but in

what state? The computer thought I had a

purpose to serve, but I wondered if it had

simply malfunctioned due to the cold.

SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page