top of page

The Ice Colony

Their numbers are minuscule yet their buildings are vast,

as if an ant pile created for only a few ants, few roam

the halls, footfalls echoing on bare walls, the past is

alive within the structures though, the whitewashed

substance like hardened toothpaste giving age to the

warm, strong walls,

I feared them at first, their ability to create such a

place, but over many weeks I realized that their

species was harmless; no interaction meant no

conflict amongst themselves, surely I could fare

the same,

I tried to introduce myself but everyone is so silent,

and they keep their distance from me, I wonder if

this is some sort of ritual or if they just don't see

me as an alien,

I often pondered on my long trip here that I might

meet another life-form, but I never imagined they

would be so much like us, yet so indifferent

to our existence.


SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page