top of page

The Jellyfish

They often remind me of jellyfish,

those beings that skate on the ice,

there was an aquarium I frequented

in Tacoma that held an exquisite display,

in fact they even had jellyfish sculptures

lining the ceiling, their tendrils spanning

across the long archway, shimmering and

reflecting in the sunlight like mirrors,

But my favorite was a multitude of

jellyfish that were living in a sphere,

a circular tank with water overflowing

around it, as if surrounded by another

liquid waterfall world, I often wondered

if they liked this display, or if they cursed

the lack of space, or if perhaps they saw

us as being in a water world of our own,

I often forgot that jellyfish don't have

thoughts, because they don't have brains

and now on this planet of ice, years later,

I watch these beings float through their

own circular world, without a nod and

without purpose, and I wonder if my

new neighbors aren't of a similar makeup

to jellyfish.


SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page