top of page

The Temple of Ice

The Temple stands four stories tall,

blocks of solidified ice built in a sturdy

arrangement that allows the viewer to

see within its walls from the outside,

I stand there for some time, hesitating,

there are two giant human-like statues

guarding the outer doors, they are made

of pure ice, I am rattled at how they were

made, they are like the work of Roman

sculptors, their arms are held above their

heads outstretched but with hands in a

prayer position, their eyes are hollow holes

that bare into the soul,

Every Ghost Person who enters the Temple

first stands at the foot of the right structure

and nods to it as if greeting an old friend,

I decide to do the same, perhaps in reverence

to the craftsmanship, perhaps in respect of

their culture, mostly because I hope that

someone is watching, the Ghost People

within the walls surprise me by stopping,

they stand still beside large columns and

particular arches, pausing in prayer for

many minutes, humming towards the

sculptures, being still to know their God,

This is the only time I've ever seen them

stand in one spot, the only noises I've heard

them utter, the only reprieve from their

bustling lives, and it suddenly fills me with

a warming calm to know that they believe

in something more.


SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page