top of page

The Row of Icicles

They have gathered today,

Algernon takes me to see,

in the center of the city there's

a vast collection of ghosts that

are pointing and starting, they

are beneath an amphitheater

at the bottom of a valley,

There are icicles hanging from

the edges of the roof, as if they

grew down from the mountain

to spy on musicians on stage,

I try to imagine how they were

able to sculpt such a massive

structure, such craftsmanship!

It is carved into the mountain

itself, it is like a bite out of its

side, the mountain moans and

leans to one side,

I look at the stage and notice

what they're pointing at,

there is a young boy, a single

soul, sitting center stage,

he is staring at the crowd with

his hands clinched tight beneath

him, I cannot see what he holds,

All at once the crowd is yelling in

a fury, the boy springs up and

throws a large chunk of ice up,

up at the icicles, the whole crowd

screams as one and the boy runs

into the mass of ghosts, they

engulf him, lift him up for a moment

before freezing, the mass looks up,

a single icicle falls, they scream and

release the boy, interest dying as

the entire collection of icicles falls,

Algernon and I run before the crowd

can make their way to us, we move

around and situate ourselves to be

at an angle perpendicular to their path,

as they move the world shivers, and

more icicles fall from somewhere

unseen, the girl urges me on and

we join with the crowd then, moving

among them as the entire structure

collapses, my heart turning cold as

I fear an avalanche behind us,

The great fall does not occur, but

I wonder how the crowd could know

to fear a single chunk of ice from a

small boy, I wonder why the boy was

so angry, and I wonder why they made

such an epic structure, so susceptible

to falling down.


SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page